360° feedback at Stuttgarter Versicherung

Our client’s concern

Growing closer – is the motto of the change process of the insurance company. Growing closer also means to support an open corporate culture and the exchange between executives and across different levels. Bearing that in mind the executive board of the Stuttgarter instructed KI.M to conceptualize and support the implementation of a 360° feedback. In the first round the focus was on the executive board and the top-level management. In this year’s session the division managers are going to be the feedback recipients.

The project

KI.M took care of the conception of a customized questionnaire which meets the demands of the insurance company, supporting the communication process, the operative implementation and furthermore accompanying the follow-up process.

The project was presented to the managers within the scope of a workshop. In the following phase of implementation the managers invited their feedback providers to take part in the survey. Each feedback recipient received apart from his individual report a coaching session to be able to interpret the results in an adequate way and draw conclusions for the personal development. The overall results were presented and discussed on a group level.

The result

Thanks to an excellent participation rate of 98% all managers received a significant and conclusive result. The attendance for the following coaching sessions was 100%. Furthermore, the content encouraged interesting discussions regarding cooperation within and across different departments. This topic will be dealt with within the scope of an executive retreat. 

Dr. Franziska Dietz
Dr. Franziska Dietz
Psychologist (Diploma), Managing Consultant
Contact

1 Project layout

Special features of the 360° feedback at Stuttgarter Versicherung

1. Management board as a role model

For the premiere of the 360°-feedback for leading managers at Stuttgarter all members of the executive board were dedicated and participated not only in their role as a superior but also as an active feedback recipient.

2. Feedback from the general management

A further characteristic of this particular case was the addition of a feedback by all members of the executive board (in addition to the superior). This “diagonal-feedback“ was supposed to give the leading managers an orientation on how they are perceived “up there“ apart from the opinion of their boss.

3. Growing together

An important result of the individual development measures was the encouraged exchange on various levels in differing constellations. The 360°-feedback was another impulse for an open communication across colleagues, with employees but especially across all departmental boundaries.

2 Dimensions of the 360°-feedback questionaire

In collaboration with the talent management department at Stuttgarter Versicherung, we developed a questionaire which illustrates the factors for successful leadership at the company. Each dimension consists of about 5 statements and is answered by strong>chosen feedbackprovider-groups. For example superiors and employees are asked to give feedback regarding the topic of “promoting employees” and regarding “operational management“ only the employees are asked because most of the times the superiors don’t have an extensive insight into the daily leadership skills of their employee.

3 Extract from an exemplary report

4 Evaluation of the 360°-feedback system

legend: 1* = bad, 2* = inadequate, 3* = satisfactory, 4* = very good, 5* = exellent
legend: 1* = bad, 2* = inadequate, 3* = satisfactory, 4* = very good, 5* = exellent

Both the feedback measure as well as the communication process were evaluated. Overall a total of 150 managers took part in the evaluation.

5 Client’s reference

The Stuttgarter Versicherungsgruppe has implemented a 360°- feedback for the first time. Throughout the entire process the cooperation with KI.M was characterized by a well-structured preparation, an individual and professional design and conceptualization as well as a flawless support during the survey.
As a result for our company, the 360°-feedback has supported us in establishing new ways of communication which haven’t been used before and further contribute to an open and constructive collaboration. We would like to thank KI.M for the great support and help.

Nadine Köngeter
HR

360°Feedback bei der Stuttgarter Versicherung

Das Anliegen unseres Kunden

Zusammenwachsen – ist das Motto des Veränderungsprozesses der Stuttgarter. Zusammenwachsen bedeutet auch, eine offene Unternehmenskultur zu fördern und den Austausch zwischen den Führungskräften und über unterschiedliche Ebenen zu stärken. Vor diesem Hintergrund beauftragte der Vorstand der Stuttgarter das KI.M mit der Konzeption und Begleitung eines 360° Feedbacks. Im ersten Durchgang standen die Vorstände und die oberste Führungsebene im Mittelpunkt. In der diesjährigen Runde sind die Gruppenleiter die Feedbackempfänger. 

Das Projekt

Zur Aufgabe des KI.Ms gehörte die Konzeption eines für die Anforderungen der Stuttgarter abgestimmten Fragebogens, die Unterstützung der Kommunikation, die operative Durchführung und vor allem die Begleitung des Folgeprozesses. 
Den Führungskräften wurde das Projekt im Rahmen eines Workshops präsentiert. In der anschließenden Durchführungsphase luden die Führungskräfte ihre Feedbackgeber ein. 
Jeder Feedbackempfänger erhielt neben seinem individuellen Bericht ein Coaching-Gespräch, um die eigenen Ergebnisse besser einzuordnen und Schlussfolgerungen für die persönliche Entwicklung abzuleiten. Die Ergebnisse wurden auch auf Gruppenebene vorgestellt und diskutiert.

Das Ergebnis

Dank einer ausgezeichneten Beteiligungsquote von 98 Prozent erhielten alle Führungskräfte ein aussagekräftiges Ergebnis. Die Teilnahme an den folgenden Coaching Gesprächen lag bei 100 Prozent. Zudem wurden interessante Diskussionen zur Zusammenarbeit innerhalb und zwischen unterschiedlichen Abteilungen entfacht. An diesem Thema wurde u.a. im Rahmen der folgenden Führungskräfteklausur weitergearbeitet.

Dr. Franziska Dietz
Dr. Franziska Dietz
Dipl.-Psychologin, Managing Consultant
Kontakt

1 Projektablauf

Besonderheiten des 360°-Feedbacks bei der Stuttgarter Versicherung

1. Vorbild Vorstand

Zur Premiere des 360°-Feedbacks für leitende Führungskräfte bei der Stuttgarter waren alle Mitglieder des Vorstands nicht nur in der jeweiligen Vorgesetztenrolle sondern auch als aktive Feedbackempfänger vollzählig und engagiert dabei.

2. Feedback vom Gesamtvorstand

Eine weitere Besonderheit war die Ergänzung der Rückmeldung durch alle weiteren Vorstandsmitglieder (zusätzlich zum eigenen Vorgesetzten). Dieses „Diagonal-Feedback“ sollte den leitenden Führungskräften eine Orientierung geben, wie sie jenseits des eigenen Chefs „da oben“ wahrgenommen werden.

3. Zusammenwachsen

Ein wichtiges Ergebnis dieser zunächst individuell angelegten Entwicklungsmaßnahme war es, dass auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen der Austausch gesucht wurde. Das 360°-Feedback war ein weiterer Impuls für ein offeneres Miteinander unter Kollegen, mit den eigenen Mitarbeitern, aber vor allem über die Abteilungsgrenzen hinweg.

2 Fragebogendimensionen des 360°-Feedbacks

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Personalentwicklung der Stuttgarter wurde ein Fragebogen entwickelt, der die Faktoren für erfolgreiche Führung bei der Stuttgarter abbildet. Jede Dimension enthält ca. 5 Aussagen und wird von ausgewählten Feedbackgeber-Gruppen beantwortet. Beispielsweise werden Vorgesetzte und Mitarbeiter zwar zum Thema „Mitarbeiter fördern“ um Feedback gebeten, beim Thema „Operative Führung“ sind dagegen nur die Mitarbeiter gefragt, da Vorgesetzten häufig der Einblick in den Führungsalltag Ihrer Mitarbeiter fehlt.

3 Ausschnitt aus einem exemplarischen Ergebnisbericht

4 Evaluation des 360°-Feedback Systems

Legende: 1* = schlecht, 2* = mangelhaft, 3* = befriedigend, 4* = sehr gut, 5* = ausgezeichnet
Legende: 1* = schlecht, 2* = mangelhaft, 3* = befriedigend, 4* = sehr gut, 5* = ausgezeichnet

Evaluiert wurden sowohl das Feedbackinstrument als auch der Kommunikationsprozess. Insgesamt beteiligten sich knapp 150 Führungskräfte an der Begfragung.

5 Kundenstimme zum Projekt

Die Stuttgarter Versicherungsgruppe hat zum ersten Mal ein 360-Grad-Feedback durchgeführt. Über den gesamten Prozess hinweg war die Zusammenarbeit geprägt von strukturierter Planung, individueller und professioneller Gestaltung und Konzeption bis hin zu einem einwandfreien Support während der Befragung.
Im Ergebnis hat uns das 360-Grad-Feedback als Unternehmen unterstützt Kommunikationswege zu etablieren, die vorab noch nicht genutzt wurden und zu einer offeneren und konstruktiveren Zusammenarbeit beitragen. Vielen Dank an das KI.M für die Begleitung und Unterstützung auf diesem Weg.

Nadine Köngeter
Personalreferentin